• Martín O'Hara, Esq.

TPS extended to 2020 for 4 countries

Updated: Mar 2, 2019

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) filed a notice on Thursday indicating that Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for TPS-holders from Sudan, El Salvador, Haiti and Nicaragua will be extended until January 2, 2020.

Those with TPS are allowed to reside and work in the United States because their home countries have suffered natural or man-made disasters. In many cases, TPS holders have remained in the United States for two decades.

The DHS extension comes after an October ruling from a judge in California, which issued an injunction that blocked the Trump administration from ending the TPS program for these four countries. The DHS notice represents the administration's compliance with the injunction.

The notice, published int he Federal Register on March 1, states: "Beneficiaries under the Temporary Protected Status (TPS) designations for Sudan, Nicaragua, Haiti, and El Salvador will retain their TPS while the preliminary injunction remains in effect, provided that an individual’s TPS is not withdrawn...because of ineligibility. DHS is further announcing it is automatically extending through January 2, 2020, the validity of TPS-related Employment Authorization Documents (EADs), Forms I–797, Notice of Action (Approval Notice), and Forms I–94 (Arrival/Departure Record)...for beneficiaries under the TPS designations for Sudan, Nicaragua, Haiti, and El Salvador, provided that the affected TPS beneficiaries remain otherwise individually eligible for TPS."

The full notice can be found at: https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-03-01/pdf/2019-03783.pdf.


Call for a Free Consultation (213) 265-7348

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Yelp Social Icon

E-MAIL: martin@martinoharalaw.com

634 S. Spring St., Ste. 917

Los Angeles, CA 90014